- Library Information
Resources
|
|
|
Research and General Information Databases |
|
|
 |
-
Opposing Viewpoints:
Provides
differing points of view on current social issues, such as affirmative
action, censorship, ecology, human rights, mental health,
religion, and many more topics.
Access From Home
|
|
|
|
 |
-
CultureGrams World Edition: Provides Cultural information
about countries around the world, including beliefs, traditions, and
institutions that create and mediate individual, community, and national
identity. Each CultureGram has 25 different categories so you can see
each culture’s many facets and draw connections between them.
Access From Home
|
|
|
|
 |
-
EBSCO
(Magazines & Journals): Access to
full-text magazines, journals and newspaper articles, health and
medical sources, Funk & Wagnalls Encyclopedia, Animal
Encyclopedia, along with Elementary, Secondary and Senior High
School resources.
Access from Home
- (Part of the
Traveler Project,
an
LSTA project administered by the Arkansas State Library)
|
|
|
|
 |
-
Student Research Center: EBSCO's
Student Research Center makes it easy for students to search by keyword or
by topic to find the most useful search results. Results can be easily
sorted by source type - -magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc. The
Student Research Center is designed especially for youth in grades 6-12.
Access from Home
- (Part of the
Traveler Project,
an
LSTA project administered by the Arkansas State Library)
|
|
|
|
Curriculum Resource Center: History (World, American, African-American,
Government), Historical Timelines, Geography, Mathematics, Science Diagrams,
Science Experiments, Physical Education and Health. For the Jr. High and
High School student.
Access from Home |
|
|
|
American History Online:
Biographies, Events & Topics, Timelines, Maps & Charts, from prior to 1776
to present day.
Access from Home |
|
|
|
 |
African-American History Online: Biographies, Events & Topics,
Timelines, Maps & Charts, from prior to 1819 to present day.
Access from Home |
|
|
|
American
Women's History Online: Biographies, Events & Topics,
Timelines, Maps & Charts, from prior to 1492 to present day.
Access from Home |
|
|

|
American Indian History Online: Biographies, Events &
Topics, Timelines, Maps & Charts, covering before 1775, and various time
frames through to the present day.
Access from Home |
|
|

|
Ancient and Medieval History Online: Biographies, Events &
Topics, Timelines, Maps & Charts, covering Ancient Egypt, Mesopotamia,
Greece, Rome, Medieval Africa, Europe and the Americas.
Access from Home |
|
|
|
 |
Science Online:
Biographies, Diagrams, Definitions, Experiments, Essays and Timelines.
Access from Home |
|
|
|
 |
World
Geography & Culture Online: Interactive maps from all over the world with flags, vital
statistics, government information, demographics, and other resources.
Access from Home |
|
|
|
 |
Facts on File Databases:
Fully searchable resource with full-text and images in
categories of Science (including science experiments) , History,
African-American History, Geography, Career Guidance along with
Government and Legal
Forms.
Access from Home |
|
|
 |
-
Britannica Online:
Comprehensive, authoritative work containing articles on a wide
range of subjects with full-text and images. Includes the
Merriam-Webster Dictionary and Thesaurus.
Access from Home
- (Part of the
Traveler Project,
an
LSTA project administered by the Arkansas State Library)
|
|
|
|
 |
-
Britannica
Online for Kids: Features a kid friendly on-line encyclopedia
made for the younger student.
Access from Home
(Be sure to
click on "Jump to Britannica Kids" found in the upper right corner of
the Britannica website.)
- (Part of the
Traveler Project,
an
LSTA project administered by the Arkansas State Library)
|
|
|
|
-
Discovering
Collection: People Search, Merriam Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, Merriam Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, Biographical Dictionary, Geographical Dictionary, and their Collegiate Dictionary.
Access from Home
- (Part of the
Traveler Project,
an LSTA project administered by the Arkansas State Library)
|
|
|
|
-
FirstSearch:
Find
books, articles, and other type of materials
on the subject you need, most in index and/or abstract format.
Includes: WorldCat, Article1st, Contents1st, ECO,
NetFirst,
UnionLists, ERIC, GPO, MedLine, PapersFirst, Proceedings,
and World Almanac.
- (Part of the
Traveler Project,
an LSTA project administered by the Arkansas State Library)
|
|
|
|
Health
Reference Center: General Health, Mental Health, Definitions & Terms,
Medical Tests, and Social Issues.
Access from Home |
|
|
|
 |
Career Guidance Center:
Industry Overviews, Career Descriptions, Industry
Resources, Scholarships, Academic and Non-Academic Programs and
Employability Skills Checklist.
Access from Home |
|
|
|
 |
Testing & Education
Reference Center: Take practice ACT and SAT
tests or use the test preperation
eBooks to study for ACT, SAT, AP, GED, CLEP, GRE, GMAT, ASVAB and a variety
of licensing exams.
Access From Home |
|
|
|
|
(Visit our "Selected
Sites" area for websites covering various subject matters) |
|
|
Forms for Business, Legal, IRS and more |
|
|
 |
U.S. Legal Forms for the State of Arkansas: Legal forms for
leases, mortgages, deeds, bill of sale, power of attorney, wills, divorce,
and many other Arkansas legal forms. Also includes employment law
handbook, elder law handbook, financial statements, and over 1,500 sample
letters pertaining to many legal issues.
Access From Home |
|
|
|
 |
Internal
Revenue Service: Official Government site for IRS forms and
information. |
|
|
|
 |
DFA
Arkansas State Tax Forms: Official Arkansas Government site for
tax forms. |
|
|
(Visit our "Selected
Sites" area for websites covering various subject matters) |
|
|
|
|
 |
Pine Bluff
Obituary Index: The Library's computer index to the Pine
Bluff Commercial, Pine Bluff Graphic,
Pine Bluff News, Pine Bluff Dispatch, Pine Bluff Press-Eagle,
Negro Spokesman, Jefferson Republican, Weekly Echo, and White Hall Journal. Contains over 260,000
entries from 1866 to present day. |
|
|
|
 |
Genealogy
Book Index: The Library's Genealogy Book Index to various
genealogy books owned by the Pine Bluff / Jefferson County Library which did
not come with an index. Currently
contains nearly 80,000
entries for 76 books. |
|
|
|
 |
Ancestry Library
Edition:
Genealogy Database
available only at the
Library. Includes Federal Census Records through 1930,
Military Records, City Directories, Maps, and many valuable
Genealogy resources. |
|
|
|
 |
Heritage
Quest: Genealogy Database of Federal Census images
along with family and local histories. Soon it will include Obituaries,
War
Pensions and other records.
Home Access (Having problems with Heritage Quest
Home Access?) |
|
|
|
 |
Sanborn Maps:
For the State of
Arkansas are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of
Arkansas Cities/Towns. |
|
|
|
|
(Visit our "Genealogy
Sites" for selected genealogy websites) |
|
|
Elementary and Middle School Students |
|
|
|
|
 |
-
CultureGrams Kids World Edition: Learn the culture of many
countries of the world. Includes fun facts, information about
lifestyle, people & places, history, society, recipe collection and much
more. Access From Home
|
|
|
|
 |
-
CultureGrams States Edition: Learn the culture of any
state in the United States. Includes Fun Facts, Famous People,
Climate, Geography, Time Line and much more.
Access From Home
|
|
|
|
 |
Infobits: Information on current events,
the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more,
with easy, subject-based search tree to help find just what you need.
Access From Home |
|
|
|
 |
-
Kids Search:
.
Includes Primary Search, Middle Search Plus, Newspaper Source,
TOPICsearch, Funk & Wagnalss and EBSCO Animals databases, featuring full-text
articles.
Access from Home
- (Part of the
Traveler Project,
an
LSTA project administered by the Arkansas State Library)
|
|
|
|
 |
-
Searchasaurus:
EBSCO host's graphical
design search database for elementary and middle school students.
Includes Primary Search and Middle Search Plus databases featuring full-text
articles.
Access from Home
- (Part of the
Traveler Project,
an
LSTA project administered by the Arkansas State Library)
|
|
|
|
 |
World Almanac Online: People in History, Events in
History, Maps & Flags, Timelines, Science Diagrams, Science Projects and
Career Ideas. For the elementary and middle school students.
Access from Home |
|
|
|
-
Discovering
Collection: People Search, Merriam Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, Merriam Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, Biographical Dictionary, Geographical Dictionary, and their Collegiate Dictionary.
Access from Home
- (Part of the
Traveler Project,
an LSTA project administered by the Arkansas State Library)
|
|
|
|
 |
-
Britannica
Online for Kids: Features a kid friendly on-line encyclopedia
made for the younger student. Access from Home coming soon.
- (Part of the
Traveler Project,
an
LSTA project administered by the Arkansas State Library)
|
|
|
|
|
|
(Visit our "Selected
Sites" area for websites covering various subject matters) |
|

- Many of our Information Resources are available for use
outside of the Library.
- Click Here
for more information.
|
|
This Web Page was last
up-dated on 04/25/2012
Web Site best viewed in 800 x
600 pixels |
|
|
Please do not hesitate
to contact a Librarian @ 534-2159
|
|